February 16, 2014 – Faith vs Fear – Hemingway and Her

It’s an Ernest Hemingway quote that my friend sent to me. It alone is powerful.

“The best people possess a feeling for beauty, the courage to take risk, the capacity for sacrifice. Ironically, their witness makes them vulnerable: they are often wounded, sometimes destroyed.”

But then she added:

For some reason…this represents to me what it means to be a witness to our beliefs, or live in “faith” in every area of our physical life on earth.  The fear of being destroyed, “death” isn’t scary when I am walking in faith, but when I find myself walking on the side of “fear”, the vulnerability I feel is overwhelming!  I think that is why I like this quote so well.

I think that is why I like it so well, too. Thanks Ernest and friend.

David Miller Initials

Leave a comment